Home > Bollywood > Will Miss Melody Rule Again in 2010? Hmmm…

Will Miss Melody Rule Again in 2010? Hmmm…

2009 is history (and it was a fairly melodious year, I must say…) but listening to the first few soundtracks of 2010 doesn’t give me the urge to unravel the mystery that is 2010!!  Here’s my view on what we’ve had this year so far:

Pyaar Impossible:  A wannabe Hinglish soundtrack with eminently forgettable tracks.

Chance Pe Dance:  An overall sloppy effort.

Veer:  Shows traces of some promise. Maybe music directors Sajid-Wajid remembered that it is Gulzar who wrote the lyrics after all.

So what about 2009?  What do I think about the year that was?  Here’s my quick synopsis:

Song of the Year:  “Iktara” from Wake Up Sid

Class-y Soundtrack of the YearDev D.

Mass-y Soundtrack of the yearLove Aaj Kal

Funk-y Soundtrack of the yearQuick Gun Murugan

Honorable Mentions for SoundtracksLuck By Chance, Gulaal, Kaminey, Wake Up Sid, Delhi-6, Ajab Prem Ki Ghajab Kahani, London Dreams, Tum Mile, Straight, 3 Idiots

Why don’t you tell me what you think about the year that was and see how close we both are?  Now I’m sure THAT’S not impossible!!

Categories: Bollywood
  1. arun verma
    January 25, 2010 at 3:03 pm

    A really amazing tune by Sajid-wajid in veer ..took me by surprise.. Veer is their best effort by a MILE!

    Striker has some interesting tracks and so does my name is khan but Ishiqiya is probably the most satisfying one so far in 2010!

    I actually disagree about Pyar Impossible – I think its sounds funky with some spirited singing and nice varied choice of singers! Not a classic by any means but a enjoyable mass-y soundtrack much like Love aaj kal and Ajab prem is ghazab kahani

    Your choices for 2009 soundtracks completely agrees with mine!!

    • January 26, 2010 at 2:03 am

      Actually “Pyaar Impossible” has in fact grown on me over the days as well…at least a couple of tracks are worthy of some repeat listening. I had them playing in my car for quite some days before that blissful “Dil To Bachcha Hai” completely took control !! 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

